top of page

My Experience Volunteering at the Scarborough Village Community Garden


As a youth volunteer at the Scarborough Village Community Garden, I am always excited and enthusiastic to start working!

On my first day volunteering at the garden, I was given a tour from Cynthia, the garden's Summer Youth Coordinator. She showed me the many different vegetables, fruits, and flowers in the garden. I was able to see wholesome tomatoes, strawberries, zucchinis, cucumbers, mint, and countless other plants!

At the garden, there are always jobs that need to be done. Jobs at the garden include seeding, mulching, composting, watering, sodding, weeding, and staking. However, youth volunteers can also obtain volunteer hours by blogging or handing out flyers. It is never boring at the garden!

Every Saturday, the community gathers at the Scarborough Village Community Garden to harvest the delectable fruits and vegetables. Additionally, there are workshops to participate in or volunteers can help out with more work.

Furthermore, volunteering at the Scarborough Village Community Garden also has numerous bonuses! Volunteers get to take home the nourishing fruits and vegetables during the harvest on Saturday! Throughout my time at the garden, I have learned innumerable facts about plants, bugs, and anything about gardening! Not only are volunteers strengthening and sustaining the community, they are developing new skills and qualities as well.

Everyone at the garden is very friendly and I have gained a limitless amount of experience and expertise while volunteering at the Scarborough Village Community Garden.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page